Review: Therapist by Jaden Wilkes

Sunday, May 25, 2014


I am a sociopath.

I know this because I diagnosed myself.

I have a PhD in Clinical Psychology from a very prestigious university.

I am charming, attractive, and you probably want to sleep with me.

I take what I want, when I want, and I enjoy picking the most tragic of all my patients to experiment with.

I have no remorse, I am unrelenting in my pursuit of tragedy, and I am about to meet my match.

Her name is not important, I am only allowed to call her Mistress. She is a femme fatale, a patient, and now an obsession.

She will destroy me, I will do anything to get inside of her.

I can already feel her inside of me.

**Trigger warning. This novel contains situations of perversity and dubious consent. It is not a love story, but more of a journey through a few short days in the life of a madman. What you see is not always what you get, reality is altered through his eyes and sometimes there is no happily ever after.


Therapist by Jaden Wilkes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

FYI: I hear this book is perfect for fans of American Psycho, which I have not seen and I don't think I ever will.

I think everyone who knows me and the books I like reading, will know that I mainly rate the books I read 4 or 5 Stars. Why? Because, rarely do I finish a 3 or lower star(in my opinion) read. And rarely do I rate a book I did not finish. Okay, now that I've got that off my chest, did I mention how much I enjoy this book? Well I did!

A brief summary and description of the story and Alexandre
Alexandre, is a highly paid and successful therapist, he has a small group of friends, people he graduated with. Actually friends is being too generous,they are a means to an end, everyone in Alexandre's life plays a part. They help enhance his professional image. Alexandre's is currently treating a select few of his patients with a new treatment, one that he has thought up himself. It's a controversial treatment and his patients are sworn to secrecy.

The story follows his progress and the problems he encounters while "treating" his patients. You'll read about Alexandre's views about woman, what he thinks of his co-workers and the world around him. You'll also read about the mystery surrounding his childhood and how it has shaped him into the man he is. But mostly you'll read about Alexandre's obsession with himself and being perfect. Because Alexandre thinks he is at the top of the food chain, everyone else is prey and he is the predator.

Shout out to my fellow dark lovers
Yes, we've read darker but this one deserves a chance.

My Thoughts
When I read the synopsis for Therapist by Jaden Wilkes, I immediately thought: I have got to read that! I had no idea what to expect, I didn't expect it to be very dark, but I was intrigued enough to mark my calendar for release day.

My reaction when I'd finished reading this book went something like this:

Quite frankly I am astounded! Not once did I expect anything that happened in this book to happen. What I did expect was some kind of auto-biography type book narrated by the main character recounting his exploits and maybe a bit of a sadistic mind. Well it was that and so much more! I almost DNF this book after 10% and here's why:

"And how does that make you feel?" I ask in my gentlest voice. What I really think is that she's lucky any man wants to fuck her fat ass. She's not completely unattractive, in her her early twenties she has youth on her side, but a fucking cow. She must weigh at least one forty, and at five and a half feet that puts her dangerously close to too fat to fuck category.

My reaction?

But then I read this:
I know I'm an asshole. I get it. Most of you are probably hitting close on your kindle app right now, but hang in there. I might be a piece of shit but it makes for a good read. I guarantee I'll have your cunt dripping by the time you finish our crazy fucking ride.


So I carried on reading. And I stepped into the life of a therapist called Alexandre, who had an unconventional way of treating his sexuality abused patients. And as I read about his messed up exploits and delved deeper into his brilliant yet crazed mind, I realised I had no idea where this book was going. Trust me, every time I thought this book was heading in a particular direction. It would get there and then the author would give it a twist that I never saw coming. This book is definitely dark and it is most definitely a mind fuck, the plot for me was complex, because I thought I had it figured out and at times I was right but not completely. And then at some point I was like:

I love dark romance, I tend to shy away from the strictly dark stuff because I'm a romantic first and foremost. But this is the type of book that got me excited about the genre again! Look it's not Shakespeare and I felt it needed more character development and more detail in certain scenes. What I needed was a longer book, I was confused about 50% of the time that I read this book.

I actually loved Alexandre's character, apart from the almost DNF scene his character had so many dimensions. One minute I'd think he was a complete cold blooded and heartless bastard, the next he'd show a caring side to himself, and I could see the potential. He could have been a really good guy, but...

Buy Link

No comments:

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2014 Read More Sleep Less Blog
Template by These Paper Hearts